“A Gospel Primer for Christians” ~ bulletin board

Posted on May 3, 2010. Filed under: Gospel |

As we read Milton Vincent’s A Gospel Primer for Christians together, visit this bulletin board often to share quotes from your favorite passages. Tell why it’s meaningful to you and/or how you’ve been blessed by contemplating the gospel more deeply. 

For example, here’s one from page 18… “The gospel cures me of my suspicion of God, thereby disposing me to walk more trustingly on the path of obedience to His commands.” This is something I can relate to because I often think that I have a better plan and that, somehow, God really doesn’t have my best interests at heart. This happens mostly when I am “Law-minded” in a way that discounts the gospel. Vincent writes a helpful counter to this erroneous and sinful way of thinking (p. 18):

“…when I begin my train of thought with the gospel, I realize that if God loved me enough to sacrifice His Son’s life for me, then He must be guided by that same love when He speaks His commandments to me. Viewing God’s commands and prohibitions in this light, I can see them for what they really are: friendly signposts from a heavenly Father who is seeking to love me through each directive, so that I might experience His very fullness forever.” (see Deut. 5:29)

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to ““A Gospel Primer for Christians” ~ bulletin board”

RSS Feed for Grace Bible Church Praise and Worship Comments RSS Feed

I loved the poem at the end of the book, and have several stanzas of it written out and pasted to the side of my computer at home.

“God does not require, even that I confess,
Before He desires His forgiveness to press.
Forgiveness has been in His heart all along,
And when I approach Him to make right my wrong,
He runs up to greet me and draws to me near,
Embracing and kissing and ready to clear.

God does see my sins and He grieves at them so
For when I am sinning His love I don’t know.
He even will send me so heart rending pain.
So I’ll learn new ways and His holiness gain.

That’s all I can remember off the top of my head right now, but wow are those words helpful and encouraging. This book is in my top five. God’s grace is so amazing. It is a wonderful thing that my salvation is completely a work of God and not in any way dependent on my performance.

I need to rehearse the Gospel to myself everyday in all kinds of circumstances. To leave undone produces anxiety…to do, produces joy! Thank you, Lord Jesus for the Gospel


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    OUR GOAL is to magnify the greatness and goodness of God in Christ Jesus through the power of the Holy Spirit by skillfully combining God's Word with music, in order to motivate the gathered church to proclaim the gospel, to cherish God's presence and to live for God's glory. [adapted from "Worship Matters," by Bob Kauflin (c) 2008 Crossway Books]

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

